Monday, 8 March 2010

The a.P.A.t.T. Orchestra presents... John Cage's Variations I + Music by Steve Reich

Following an acclaimed performance of Terry Riley's In C at the Bluecoat, the a.P.A.t.T. Orchestra return with another time and place-specific performance of music old and new. Featuring a 25-strong ensemble of undetermined instruments, the orchestra will be utilising the architecture of Liverpool's historic Walker Art Gallery to present a programme of immersive music, including:

John Cage's Variations I
With a score derived from marked acetates, this is the ultimate in indeterminate music

Steve Reich's Pendulum Music and Clapping Music
Seminal pieces of process music from one of the key figures in 20th Century music

Richard Harding's Meeting Points
Composed by a member of the orchestra, this piece will see the ensemble moving freely throughout the gallery as they play

This event is FREE ENTRY, so if you missed In C, this is the perfect opportunity to see this group in action, performing music that is rarely performed on this scale.

Presented as part of the Musicians' Gallery with National Museums Liverpool

No comments:

Post a Comment